Hot off the Needles

IMG_20170601_135116139

Here is my latest shawl, a gorgeous Boo Knits design, called Just Be You.  Bev of Boo Knits is one of my absolute favorite shawl designers, and this shawl is a perfect example of her brilliant lacy designs.  I used the recommended yarn from Lichtfaden Yarns, another favorite of mine.  Sabine, the creative dyer behind the gorgeousness that is Lichtfaden, outdid herself with the Pure Silk Meridian I used, in the colorway By The Sea.  It is difficult to see in the photo, but there is a sublime shading in this yarn of – you guessed it – the blues and greens of a beautiful sea somewhere! 😉

Since discovering Miyuki Triangle beads about five years ago, I use no others on my shawls.  They are perfect for lace and fingering weight yarns, and never disappoint.  The quality control of these beautiful beads is superb.  In the (literally) thousands of beads I have added to shawls over the past five years, I have had exactly two that were misformed and unable to be used.  TWO!  Out of THOUSANDS!  They are, of course, not cheap, but usually the beads for a shawl do not end up being more than $15.00, and sometimes they are more in the $5.00 – $10.00 range.  The shimmer they add to a shawl is absolutely priceless.  I tend to choose beads that blend with the color of my yarn, although I have seen some beautiful shawls that utilized contrasting beads to fabulous effect as well.  The way the beads shimmer on the fabric reminds me of stars twinkling in the night sky, and the weight of the beads lends a nice feel to the shawls.  These days I rarely knit a shawl that does not contain beads, but occasionally I do.  In fact, I am currently working on one – it is called Dorothea, and I am knitting it with some lovely yarn from Berroco called Fiora.  Details in another post!

 

Leave a comment